Album/EP Reviews: Markus Schulz / Steve Aoki / Bassnectar

Heya!  I hope everyone had a good weekend.  Whether you seized the opportunity to catch up on some much needed rest, spend quality time with friends/family or paint the town red, the weekend has come to a close and now it's time to dive nose-first into the reality of "dreaded Monday."

Over the weekend, I had the chance to pick up a few new albums... and now, I'm here to share them with you.  Hopefully, you'll able to snag some tunes to get you through the next few days.

This past Thursday, Markus Schulz gave listeners a special Global DJ Broadcast, in which he highlighted tracks from "Thought's Become Things II" (the Remixes), prior to releasing it the very next day. 


ALBUM:  Thoughts Become Things II (the Remixes)

RELEASE DATE:  January 13, 2012

GENRE:  Trance

LABEL Armada Music


  • "Gypsy Room" (Duderstadt Remix)
  • "Sinners" (KhoMha Remix)
  • "Suggestion No.5" (Erick Strong Remix) <---------- PERSONAL FAVE



  • "Terrace 5AM" (Klauss Goulart Remix)
  • "Tears"


FINAL THOUGHTS:  There is an obvious trance undertone to every track and since there are no vocals, it's almost hard to differentiate one song from the next but, overall, I enjoyed it.  "Thoughts Become Things II" was a successful album, in its original form, but the fact that Markus takes the time to recognize good remixes from other artists just gives me one more reason to love him.


01. Apollo (Wellenrausch Remix) (08:01)

02. Cape Town (Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano Remix) (05:22)

03. Terrace 5AM (Klauss Goulart Remix) (07:44)

04. Gypsy Room (Duderstadt Remix) (06:19)

05. In A Green Valley (Basil O'Glue Remix) (06:39)

06. In A Green Valley (Dakota's Return To Coldharbour Remix) (05:59)

07. Katowice (Mr. Pit Remix) (08:05)


08. Miami (DNS Project Remix) (07:07)

09. Red Star (Phynn Remix) (06:29)

10. Saints (Arnej Remix) (06:03)

11. Saints (Beat Service Remix) (07:38)

12. Sinners (Aerofoil Remix) (09:32)

13. Sinners (KhoMha Remix) (07:42)

14. Suggestion No. 5 (Erick Strong Remix) (05:52)

15. Tears (Protoculture Remix) (06:37)

The next album comes to us from electro-house producer and founder of Dim Mak Records, the one and only "Kid Millionaire," Steve Aoki.

ALBUM:  Wonderland

RELEASE DATE:  January 10, 2012

GENRE:  Electro / House

LABEL:  Dim Mak Records


  • "Ladi Dadi" feat. Wynter Gordon
  • "Come with Me" feat. Nayer  <---------- PERSONAL FAVE
  • "Ooh" feat. Rod Roy



  • "Emergency" (feat. Lil Jon & Chiddy Bang)
  • "The Kids Will Have Their Way" (feat. Sick Boy with former members of The Exploited & Die Kreuzen)


FINAL THOUGHTS Steve Aoki's diverse sound, as well as, his ability to cater to a variety of artists and styles is evident in this album.  Its gotten good reviews, so far, but I'm personally struggling with mixed feelings because some of the tracks were hit or miss; either I loved or hated them.  "No Beef" is still my favorite Steve Aoki song, to date, so I was glad that he did include it as a bonus track, along with the radio version of the club hit, "Turbulence."

Last, but certainly not least, is another remix album (er, EP) that comes to us from a fellow bay area native.  This week, Bassnectar dropped some dynamite with the "Divergent Spectrum" (Remixes) to follow up the equally explosive original EP from August of 2011. 

ALBUM:  Divergent Spectrum (Remixes)

RELEASE DATE:  January 12, 2012

GENRE:  Electro/Dubstep

LABEL:  Ultra Records

TOP PICKS (from original album):

  • "Upside Down"
  • "Lights" Ellie Golding (Bassnectar remix) <---------- PERSONAL FAVE
  • "Above & Beyond"


LEAST FAVORITE (from original album):

  • "Red Step"
  • "After Thought"


FINAL THOUGHTS Of all my reviews from the weekend, this one might just be my favorite.  I highly recommend taking advantage of the FREE DOWNLOAD!

You might be thinking... what good is it to listen to the remixes, without the originals?  I agree.  Here ya go ;)


Views: 63


You need to be a member of VIP CLUB SCENE MAGAZINE™ to add comments!




When the lights come down and the party gets wild!

A post shared by VIP Club Scene Magazine (@vipclubscene_magazine) on Jul 22, 2017 at 5:55pm PDT


Love, love, love this @lejardin_la is keeping it strictly house music! VIP Club Scene Magazine is in the building!!

A post shared by VIP Club Scene Magazine (@vipclubscene_magazine) on Aug 4, 2017 at 11:45pm PDT

© 2018   Created by V.I.P. CLUB SCENE, LLC..   Include ‘Powered by Ning’ in the footer

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service